Useful resources for Parents

Useful resources for Parents

Here are some useful resources which will help you support your child with their English work:

Websites


General Resources
• BBC Shakespeare: http://www.bbc.co.uk/drama/shakespeare/
• Channel 4 Homework High– homework help: http://www.channel4learning.com/apps/homeworkhigh/english/index.jsp

BGE
• BBC Bitesize S1-: http://www.bbc.co.uk/education/subjects/zbdxvcw
• BBC Bitesize S3: http://www.bbc.co.uk/education/subjects/z38myrd

National Qualifications
• SQA ENGLISH: http://www.sqa.org.uk/sqa/45672.html
• BBC Bitesize National 4: http://www.bbc.co.uk/education/subjects/zx4cwmn
• BBC Bitesize National 5: http://www.bbc.co.uk/education/subjects/zmcrd2p
• BBC Bitesize Higher: http://www.bbc.co.uk/education/subjects/zqxhfg8

Literacy
• BBC Skillswise – Games / ideas for improving literacy skills: http://www.bbc.co.uk/skillswise/english
• Edufind – English Grammar Guide: http://www.edufind.com/english-grammar/english-grammar-guide/
• The National Literacy Trust: http://www.literacytrust.org.uk/plrs_challenges/parents
• The Times Spelling Bee: http://timestutorials.co.uk/spellingbee

Reading
• Barrington Stoke - Books for reluctant readers: http://www.barringtonstoke.co.uk/
• Reading Rockets: http://www.readingrockets.org/audience/parents
• The Big Read – The Nation’s Favourite Books: http://www.bbc.co.uk/arts/bigread/


Reading Materials


BGE Textbooks
“Text For Scotland: Building Excellence in Language” (Book 1) by Colin Eckford. Heinemann ISBN: 0435225022
“Text For Scotland: Building Excellence in Language” (Book 2) by Colin Eckford. Heinemann ISBN: 0435225030
“Close Reading 11-14: Fiction” by Mary Firth and Andrew Ralston. Hodder Gibson. ISBN: 0340816740
“Close Reading 11-14: Fiction” by Mary Firth and Andrew Ralston. Hodder Gibson. ISBN: 0340889225

National 4 Textbooks
“National 4 & 5 English (SQA National 4 & 5)” by Jane Cooper. Hodder Gibson. ISBN: 1444192124

National 5 Textbooks
“National 5 English: Reading for Understanding, Analysis and Evaluation” by Mary Firth and Andrew Ralston. Hodder Gibson. ISBN: 1444192086
“National 5 English: Portfolio Writing Skills” by Willie McGuire. Hodder Gibson. ISBN: 1444187295
“National 5 English 2015/16 SQA Past and Hodder Gibson Model Papers” (SQA Past Papers 2015/16) ISBN: 1471860566
“National 5 English Practice Papers for SQA Exams” (Practice Papers for SQA Exams). Leckie and Leckie. ISBN: 000750487X

Higher Textbooks
“Higher English Language Skills for CfE” by Mary Firth and Andrew Ralston. Hodder Gibson. ISBN: 1471837998
“Higher English for CfE: Reading for Understanding, Analysis and Evaluation” by Colin Eckford. Hodder Gibson ISBN: 1471838064
“Higher English 2015/16 SQA Specimen, Past and Hodder Gibson Model Papers” (SQA Past Papers 2015/16) ISBN: 1471860736
“CfE Higher English Practice Papers for SQA Exams” (Practice Papers for SQA Exams) ISBN: 0007590989


Recommended Personal Reading Texts
We strongly recommend that pupils read a variety of fiction and non-fiction texts every night. Here are a few ideas:

 “S1-3 Suggested Reading” booklet
Senior Suggested Reading” list

Journalism


It is also a good idea for pupils to read a range of quality journalism as this is where a great deal of the extracts used in their reading exams will come from.
It will also be useful when pupils come to write persuasive or discursive essays for their folios.

Some suggested sites are:
• The Huffington Post: http://www.huffingtonpost.co.uk/
• The Guardian: http://www.theguardian.com/uk
• The Independent: http://www.independent.co.uk/
• The Scotsman: http://www.scotsman.com/
• The Herald: http://www.heraldscotland.com/

 

badge 200

easyfundraising

125x125 EF Banner

Contact Us

Carluke High School
Carnwath Road
Carluke
South Lanarkshire
ML8  4EA

Tel: 01555 773680
Fax: 01555 773681

slc logo

Find Us